Minutes of the 67th Annual General Meeting 22 February, 2017

with No Comments

Fylde Mountaineering Club

Minutes of the 67th Annual General Meeting

22 February, 2017

Held at The Town Hall, Poulton


The following members signed in:

Darren Hartley, Mike Howe, Rob Lewis, Karen Hicks, Dave Hicks, Martin Dale, David Walker, Chris Bell, Terry Robinson, Stephen Clark, Don Nichol, Rebecca Hicks, Christine Fry, Tony Hulme, Claire Addy, John Hickman, John Wiseman, June Wiseman, Roy Turner, Barrie Crook, Bob Killen, Mary Aspin, Derrick Smith, Andy Hird, Eddie Hird, Les Ward, Pat Bennett, Cherry Earle, Clive Bell, Andy Jackson, Hal Rzadkiewicz, Dave Wood, Jo Leadbetter, Andy Holland, Chris Thistlethwaite, Peter Roscoe, George James, Leanne Sutton, Jenny Tolley, Barbara Senior

Apologies for absence:

Alan Bell, Michael Penn, Andy Dunhill, Chris Packman, Lynn Baines, Iggi Moore, Stuart Sykes, Dave Cundy, Frances Watkins, Dave Ward, Sue Denmark, John Denmark, Derek Wells, Paul Taylor, Caroline Webb,  Simon Fenna, Andy Ingle, Tom Knowles, Dorothy Jowett, Liz Hird, Rachel Bell, Gillian Llewellyn, Peter Llewellyn, Liz Rawcliffe, Matt Reid, Pam Ruthven, Peter Hope, Steph Hope, Mark Bowden, Kev Ebbrell, Angela Lovett, Alan Lovett, Chris Campbell, Christine Moylan, Dave Earle, Jenny Parker, John Parker, Katie Roberts and family

Matters Arising from the Minutes of the 2016 AGM

There were no matters arising and the Minutes were accepted. The minutes of the EGM held in November 2016 were also accepted.


Chairman’s Report

Darren gave a warm welcome to members to the 67th AGM of the FMC and was pleased that so many members had made it their priority to attend. He asked everyone to ensure that they had signed in. He thanked all those who helped in the running of the club and asked for the meeting’s appreciation.

Darren referred to the safety / navigational training which is being led by Dave Hicks and informed the meeting that there will be a weekend meet focused on this. He announced that members who wish to participate in first-aid  and /or self-rescue courses should contact the committee in order to potentially secure part-funding.

With regard to Associate Membership, Darren announced that  a number of successful applications had been ratified by  the committee and one application had been rejected as the criteria had not been met.

Darren noted that the club dinner at the Skiddaw Hotel in Keswick had been a great success with 58 members attending and that a longstanding member of the club had remarked to him that it seemed as if you were missing out if you did not go. It is the intention of the committee to hold the dinner on the Fylde once every five years.

Other important developments have been the new website developed by Steve Clark assisted by Roy and Dave and Darren referred to future developments as the website coordinated those aspects of the club appearing on social media. The hut door locks have also been superseded by electronic locks which has eliminated the problem of sending out and ensuring keys are returned with outside bookings.

Darren noted that the year had been hugely successful thanks to the efforts of the meet coordinators both home and abroad. Membership had fluctuated between 160  and 170 and he thanked Dave Wood for his excellent work on membership. Darren remained aware that active membership was still a problem due to the age profile of the club.

The financial position of the club stands at a healthy balance of £27,000 which is over £6000 up from last year. Darren attributed this partially to the impact of deposits from outside bookings being taken in advance but he noted that a considerable sum had been spent on electrical work at Stair. He stated that both huts had been maintained regardless of cost and thanked both hut custodians for their efforts. He further noted that the replacement of the roof at Stair was held as an agenda item at committee and that the roof would be run to failure before replacement.

Darren was looking forward to putting together the 2017-18 syllabus and was keen to have volunteers who would be prepared to organise meets.





Officers’ Reports

The Secretary’s Report, The Treasurer’s Report and the Booking Secretary’s Report were accepted by the meeting. Mike Howe informed the meeting that last year’s auditor was John Hickman but due to John’s medical condition, the audit had been carried out by John Wiseman and Don Nichol with his approval.

The Membership Secretary’s Report were accepted by the meeting and Rob gave thanks to Dave for the quality of his work and for his strenuous efforts on behalf of the club. Darren endorsed this.  Dave said how much he had enjoyed being Membership Secretary and what a good experience it had been.

The Stair  and Little Langdale Hut Custodians’ Reports were accepted by the meeting. Drew thanked everyone who had helped to maintain the Little Langdale hut, and that members had commented on the good state of the huts. Darren added that the huts were the main source of income for the club and improvements to Little Langdale would be discussed at the next meeting.

The Social Secretary’s Report, The Newletter Editor’s Report and the What’s On Editor’s Report were all accepted by the meeting. Rob stated that Roy had not been well but had still produced an excellent magazine and Darren agreed. Darren also thanked John for his longstanding contribution to the club as editor of What’s On.

Motions Which Require a Vote:

There were no motions requiring a vote.



The following Officers were elected:


Position Nominee Proposer Seconder
Chairman Darren Hartley Jo Leadbetter Karen Hicks
Vice-Chairman Clive Bell Christine Fry Rob Lewis
Secretary Rob Lewis Roy Turner Tony Hulme
Treasurer Mike Howe Don Nichol Cherry Earle
Booking Secretary Dave Hicks Martin Dale Rob Lewis
Membership Secretary Andy Holland Dave Wood Martin Dale
Stair Hut Custodian Andy Dunhill Rob Lewis Chris Bell
Langdale Hut Custodian Andy & Liz Hird Pat Bennett Jenny Tolley
Social Secretary Tony Hulme Christine Fry Rebecca Hicks
Magazine Editor Roy Turner Martin Dale Christine Fry
What’s On Editor John Wiseman Chris Bell Cherry Earle
Webmaster Steve Clark Roy Turner Martin Dale
Auditor John Hickman John Wiseman Don Nichol




The following committee members were elected:


Nominee Proposer Seconder
Martin Dale Rob Lewis Jo Leadbetter
Jo Leadbetter Steve Clark Rebecca Hicks
Rebecca Hicks Clare Addy Karen Hicks
Chris Bell Andy Hird Pat Bennett


Future Club Policy:

There were no matters which the membership wished to discuss


Darren referred with great sadness to the death of Gordon Heywood, a longstanding and popular member of the club, and announced that members who wished to pay their respects could attend his funeral on the following day.


John Wiseman encouraged members to get their entries for the photo competition in.


Post AGM

A meeting of the new committee will take place on 27 February, 2017

Minutes are currently unapproved

AGM minutes compiled by Rob Lewis